KINDance website header.jpg

VIRTUAL WORKSHOP

OCTOBER 24-25, 2020 / ON ZOOM!

SCHEDULE: Saturday-Sunday, October 24-25
12-3pm EST / 9am-12pm PST (must attend both days)

COST: $45

 

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

If the registration fee is a financial barrier for you, please email info@robertmoseskin.org. We will be happy to provide a discount code so the workshop is accessible to you.

 

Robert Moses will coach as former RMK dancers Amy Foley and Bliss Kohlmyer lead participants through this technically demanding and intellectually challenging workshop. This online program is designed for intermediate/advanced and professional dancers wanting to immerse themselves in intensive training. Each participant will take part in a rigorous process designed to provide dancers with practical performance and creative approaches to stage presentation, while learning repertory from one of Robert Moses’ seminal works. The workshop is recommended for disciplined dancers and movers interested in exploring Moses’ approach to choreographic work and sharpening their performance representation.

 

OPEN VIRTUAL CLASSES

Contemporary classes from KINDance offer a special cohesiveness. Even as each individual teacher has their own unique style and approach, they all draw from their decades of experience dancing with and learning from Artistic Director and master teacher Robert Moses. By signing up for classes, you’re joining the next generation of KIN.

All classes are one hour long, offered on a pay-what-you can basis ($5, $10, or $15), and conducted on Zoom. To join a class, register using the links provided below. The Zoom meeting information will be sent to the email address you provided at checkout 10 minutes prior to the class. Please note that class registration closes 15 minutes before the class's start time.

WEEKLY SCHEDULE

Sundays, 9-10am PST / 12-1pm EST: Afrofusion with Yeni Lucero

Yeni teaches Afro Urban and Traditional Technique fused with contemporary. She begins with drills and footworks to create a strong foundation and then builds phrases drawn from Afrobeats, Afrohouse, West African Dance Disciplines (predominantly from Senegal and Liberia) and Salsa Cubana (Timba). For those who wish to work on performance quality and presence, she also focuses on choreographic content and delivery.

Click here to register!

Sundays, 2-3pm PST / 5-6pm EST: Contemporary with Victor Talledos

Physically, mentally and artistically challenging, this contemporary class incorporates ideas from a variety of dance forms and techniques. We’ll work on rhythm, musicality, speed, precision and encourage dancers to explore their individual voices. Starting with a simple warm up to connect with our bodies, class will build up to a movement phrase that will allow dancers to move in an expansive and expressive way even with the space limitations that we might encounter. Ideal for Intermediate and Advanced Dancers.

Click here to register!

BEGINNING OCTOBER 5: Mondays, 5-6pm PST / 8-9pm EST: Contemporary with Mary Carbonara

Ideal for new and returning dancers, Mary's class focuses on increasing range of motion, building strength and flexibility, musicality and stamina. Habits will be undone to find greater ease and bolder effort. With an emphasis on injury prevention, moving big in limited spaces and dancing longer, Mary Carbonara’s classes are based on the pedagogical methods of Master Teacher Lynn Simonson, and incorporate aspects of the Cunningham and Horton Techniques. The focus of each class is to help dancers build a solid and expressive technique through a clear articulation and progression of foundational alignment and movement principles. Students can expect to improvise and work with a variety of different music.

Click here to register!

POP-UP CLASS! Tuesday, October 27, 10:30-11:30am PST / 1:30-2:30pm EST: Intermediate/Advanced Ballet Master Class with Jenna Marie

Jenna’s class is great for the intermediate/advanced dancer. This class will focus on incorporating contemporary forms and classical ballet technique. We will concentrate on breath, coordination and movement quality. The goal is for each dancer to explore their own range of strength and expression. 

Click here to register!

 

Tuesdays, 3-4pm PST / 6-7pm EST: Contemporary with Elena Martins

Elena’s Contemporary class is great for the intermediate/advanced dancer. This one hour virtual class features a 30-minute follow along, full body warm-up, which focuses on technique and strength training. The remainder of the class is dedicated to fun and challenging phrase work, driven by music rather than counts, allowing dancers to work on the musicality of movement. These aspects culminate in students enjoying a complete and enriching dance experience. All movement is designed to fit in small spaces.

Click here to register!

 

Wednesdays, 9-10am PST / 12-1pm EST: Contemporary with Bliss Kohlmyer

Integrating and borrowing values from modern, post-modern, and classical traditions, this class is rooted in a very technical base, with an emphasis on precision and clarity. Nevertheless, the class unfolds in a way that allows for a sense of release. Bliss’ affinities for gestural intricacy, rhythmic complexity, articulation of the spine and other joints, and quick changes of weight result in a full-bodied and physically demanding class. The class will begin with a follow-me warmup and then will continue into phrase work that will be exhilarating and fun!

Click here to register!

 

Thursdays, 10-11am PST / 1-2pm EST: Contemporary with Amy Foley

In Amy Foley's dynamic class, students progress from center work focused on alignment and warming the body to moving through space with precision and volume. Special emphasis is put on nuance, movement musicality and quick vs. suspended kinetic qualities. Amy attempts to give her students the tools with which to challenge themselves in order to dance with efficiency, power and joy -- even in confined spaces!

Click here to register!

 

Fridays, 11am-12pm PST / 2-3pm EST: Contemporary with Katherine Wells

This contemporary class begins with an efficient, full body technical warmup that progressively incorporates groove as well as flow as a means to access your individual voice and instinct within the material. Katherine aims to provide a framework for you to sweat, laugh and DANCE fully and authentically as the class culminates in a challenging and dynamic phrase that you can dig your teeth into.

Click here to register!

POP-UP CLASS! Friday, October 9, 12:30-1:30pm PST / 3:30-4:30pm EST: Intermediate Jazz with ArVejon Jones

ArVejon’s Jazz class is based in dynamic musicality, embracing his ancestral language in African dance as well as current secular movement. Having an extensive background in Tap and Hip Hop, he values dance that provokes joy and thought. That being said, ArVejon values contemporary dance and ballet languages as devices to codify movement and muscular conditioning. He will challenge dancers in aspects of foot work, weight shifts, technical accuracy, musicality, and performance in hopes to cultivate an appreciation for the American art form of Jazz dance.

Click here to register!

 

Saturdays, 10-11am PST / 1-2pm EST: Contemporary with Cora Cliburn

Cora’s contemporary class focuses on re-centering and lengthening the body while finding ways to use and expand beyond our current unconventional dance spaces (from kitchens to grassy fields!). This class moves quickly through technical exercises to develop strength and energetic awareness, and culminates in a phrase exploring rhythm and groove in Robert Moses' unique vocabulary.

Click here to register!

© 2020, Robert Moses' Kin

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Vimeo